Tech Tower and Shop Building in 1899
First graduates- H. Smith(top-3rd from left) & G. Crawford(top-5th from left)
1948 School Seal
Nano-Technology Building

COE has a rich history as reflected in the College's historical timeline.

  • 1885 October 13, Georgia Gov. Henry D. McDaniel signs a bill appropriating $65,000 to create a technical school.
  • 1888 Four professors are hired and 84 students begin classes at the Georgia School of Technology. The first academic program is in mechanical engineering, and the only degree offered is a Bachelor of Science in mechanical engineering.
  • 1890 The first two students graduate.
  • 1896 The Schools of Civil Engineering and Electrical Engineering are established.
  • 1899 The School of Textile Engineering is established.
  • 1901 The School of Chemical Engineering is established.
  • 1930 The Daniel Guggenheim School of Aeronautics is created with a $300,000 grant from the Guggenheim Foundation.
  • 1934 The Engineering Experiment Station (the forerunner of the Georgia Tech Research Institute) begins operation with $5,000 of state support.
  • 1945 The School of Industrial Engineering is established.
  • 1948 The Board of Regents authorizes Tech to change its name to the Georgia Institute of Technology.
  • 1952 The Board of Regents votes to make Tech co-educational. The first two female students enroll in the fall quarter.
  • 1961 Tech admits its first African-American students.
  • 1985 The School of Materials Science and Engineering is created.
  • 1990 Students enroll in classes at Georgia Tech-Lorraine which offers graduate programs for European students.
  • 1994 G. Wayne Clough (CE '64, MS CE `65) is the first alumnus to become president of Tech.
  • 1997 The Department of Biomedical Engineering established as a joint venture between Georgia Tech College of Engineering and the Emory University School of Medicine. It's the first joint venture of its kind between a public and private academic institution.
  • 2002 Georgia Tech celebrates 50 years of women in engineering.
  • 2003 Chemical Engineering is renamed to Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering.
  • 2003 Textile and Fiber Engineering renamed to Polymer, Textile and Fiber Engineering.
  • 2004 Georgia Tech is designated the No. 1 producer of African-American engineers at the bachelor's and master's degree levels by Black Issues in Higher Education.
  • 2006 Ground was broken on the Nanotechnolgy Research Center. Retired Home Depot executive Bernie Marcus contributed $15 million, which was matched by a grant from the state of Georgia.
  • 2006 The National Cancer Institute and National Institutes of Health selected Georgia Tech and Emory University as one of seven national Centers of Cancer Nanotechnology Centers of Excellence.
  • 2006 Georgia Tech formed a dual degree program with Shanghai Jiao Tong University in China.
  • 2006 Carolyn J. and H. Milton Stewart, Jr. (IE 1961) committed $20 million to the School of ISyE to establish a permanent endowment for unrestricted use.
  • 2007 Aerospace Engineering Chair Robert Loewy won the Daniel Guggenheim Medal, awarded jointly by AIAA and ASME.
  • 2007 Russell DuPuis won the Edison Medal, the top honor of IEEE.
  • 2008 The Wallace H. Coulter Department of Biomedical Engineering celebrated its 10th anniversary.
  • 2010 College of Engineering Dean Don P. Giddens is elected to serve as president of the American Society of Engineering Education (ASEE) for 2011-2012.
  • 2010 The polymer, textile and fiber engineering program merges with materials science and engineering to form a single school.
  • 2010 Georgia Tech-Lorraine in Metz, France, marks its twentieth anniversary.
  • 2011 Gary S. May is appointed dean of the College of Engineering.
  • 2011 Jane Ammons is named chair of the Stewart School of Industrial Engineering, becoming the first female chair of a CoE school.
  • 2012 The nuclear engineering program celebrates its 50th anniversary.
  • 2012 Georgia Tech is selected to join a Federal Aviation Administration Center of Excellence.
  • 2013 The Woodruff School of Mechanical Engineering celebrates its 125th anniversary.
  • 2013 CoE student Nick Selby gives a convocation speech that goes viral online.