Facebook Pixel embed script Engineering Majors Win Big at Student Honors Celebration | College of Engineering | Georgia Institute of Technology | Atlanta, GA



Engineering Majors Win Big at Student Honors Celebration

The event honored academic achievement and leadership among Georgia Tech students. 

Apr 25, 2016

College of Engineering students were big winners at the 2016 Student Honors Celebration. The event, held April 20, recognized students throughout Georgia Tech who have demonstrated excellence in their fields of study. 

Jonathan Tuck, a senior majoring in electrical engineering, received the prestigious Love Family Foundation Scholarship. This scholarship is given each year to a member of the graduating senior class who has the most outstanding scholastic record. Tuck received an award cup along with a check for $10,000. 

The Helen E. Grenga Outstanding Woman Engineer Award is given in memory of the first female faculty member in the College of Engineering. This year’s recipient was April Gadsby, a civil engineering major. She received this award for her outstanding scholarship, leadership and service in her field. The award consists of $2,500 and a plaque.  

The Davidson Family Tau Beta Pi Senior Engineering Cup was presented to mechanical engineering major Joshua Wade, who received the award for  academic excellence, leadership and service. He received a gold cup along with $5,000. 

Three College of Engineering students received the Alvin M. Ferst Leadership and Entrepreneur Scholarship Award, given for entrepreneurial and leadership skills. All recipients received $2,500. These students are:  
●     Alexandra Flohr (mechanical engineering)
●     Titilayo Funso (industrial engineering) 
●     Henderson Johnson II (aerospace engineering)

The Georgia Tech Faculty Women’s Club Scholarships were given to undergraduates who are students of Georgia Tech employees. Each recipient received $1,500 based on academics and extracurricular involvements. These students included:   

●    Victor Barr (computer engineering)
●    Reed Morris (mechanical engineering)
●    Kexin Zhang (industrial engineering)

Eleven CoE students received the Henry Ford II Scholar Awards. The recipients, who were awarded $1,000 each, are the engineering students with the best academic records at the end of their third years. These students included: 

●    Jacob Boyle (civil engineering)
●    Christopher Campbell (nuclear and radiological engineering)
●    D. Keith Coffman (materials science and engineering)
●    Gregory Cooke (electrical engineering)
●    Ang Deng (electrical and computer engineering)
●    Joshua Ekstedt (civil engineering)
●    Jamin Hershberger (mechanical engineering)
●    Anirudh Joshi (biomedical engineering)
●    Cyril Lukianov (chemical and biomolecular engineering)
●    Madison Luther (aerospace engineering)
●    Sean Monahan (mechanical engineering)