Tech Tower

Sustained Research:  (with a plaque, certificate, and $3000)

  • Paul A. Kohl, Regents Professor (Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering)

Best Faculty Paper: (with a plaque, certificate, and $1500.00 each)

  • David Hu, Assistant Professor (Mechanical Engineering)
  • Kim M. Cobb, Associate Professor (Earth & Atmospheric Sciences)

Young Faculty Award:  (with a plaque, certificate, and $1500.00 each)

  • Michael A. Filler, Assistant Professor (Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering)
  • Stefan A. France, Assistant Professor(Chemistry & Biochemistry)



Best PhD. Thesis:  (with a plaque, certificate, and $1000.00 each)

  • Suk Choi , Electrical & Computer Engineering -  (Advisor: Russell D. Dupuis)
  • Karthekeyan Chandrasekaran, Computer Science- (Advisor: Santosh S. Vempala)
  • Yaroslav O. Dudin, Physics  -  (Advisor: Alex Kuzmich)
  • Douglas B. Rasher, Biology-  (Advisor: Mark E. Hay)
  • Chengwei (Alex) Luo, Biology - (Advisor: Kostas Konstantinidis)
  • Maysamreza Chamanzar, ECE – (Advisor: Ali Adibi)
  • Gregory T. Ostrowicki, ME – (Advisor: Suresh K. Sitaraman)
  •  Ryder C. Winck, ME – (Advisor: Wayne J. Book)

Best Master’s Thesis: (with a plaque, certificate, and $500.00 each)

  • Shweta Natarajan, Mechanical Engineering – (Advisor: Samuel Graham)
  • Sihong Zhao, Mechanical Engineering – (Advisor: Alper Erturk )
  Sigma Xi, The Scientific Research Society, founded in 1886 at Cornell University, is the honor society of scientists and engineers that recognizes scientific achievement. Its mission is to enhance the health of the research enterprise, foster integrity in science and engineering, and promote the public's understanding of science for the purpose of improving the human condition.

The Georgia Tech Sigma Xi Club was founded in 1946 and installed as a chapter of the national Society of the Sigma Xi in 1953. The Georgia Tech Chapter of Sigma Xi currently has over 250 active members.