Nine CoE Faculty Members Recognized for Teaching Effectiveness

December 15, 2014

Nine engineering faculty members have been chosen to receive the Class of 1940 Course Survey Teaching Effectiveness Award by the Georgia Tech Center for the Enhancement of Teaching and Learning (CETL). They are:

  • Sigrun Andradottir, Industrial & Systems Engineering
  • Muhannad Bakir, Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • Susan Burns, Civil and Environmental Engineering
  • John Cressler, Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • David Goldsman, Industrial & Systems Engineering
  • Jennifer Michaels, Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • Julian Rimolli, Aerospace Engineering
  • Tristan Utschig, Mechanical Engineering
  • Shannon Yee, Mechanical Engineering.

The Class of 1940 distinction is one of several awards made annually by CETL to instructors of small and large classes. It is based on the Course Instructor Opinion Surveys (CIOS) that were administered in the Fall 2013 and Spring 2014 semesters. A high response rate (85% or greater) and a near-perfect evaluation score are required for consideration. A maximum of 40 awards are made to Georgia Tech faculty annually. Announcement of the award was made this week but will be formally celebrated in March when CETL holds its annual Celebrating Teaching Day.

Thanks for reading! We'd love to hear from you.

Whether you're fascinated, excited, or you just enjoyed a good read, pass on that feeling to the Georgia Tech College of Engineering communications team!

Recent News

Understanding Human Driving Behaviors

New simulator puts people in a full-size car to understand their driving behavior 
Jun 26 2019

Dimitri Mavris Named Director of Georgia Tech PMASE Program

Regents’ professor to enable students to capitalize on education to advance their career
Jun 25 2019

Two Research Vice Presidents Named in EVPR Office

In the Office of the Executive Vice President for Research (EVPR), Raheem Beyah will serve as Vice President for Interdisciplinary Research (VPIR), while Robert Butera will be Vice President for Research Operations 
Jun 20 2019

Wang to Receive the 2019 Albert Einstein World Award of Science

 Zhong Lin Wang, Chair and Regents Professor, School of Materials Science & Engineering has been announced as the winner of the 2019 Albert Einstein World Award of Science.
Jun 17 2019

DNA: Faster Data, More Storage, Better Drugs

Georgia Tech researcher James Dahlman pens essay for Scientific American as new DNA barcoding company continues to grow
Jun 17 2019