Two Faculty Members and Former Dean Elected to NAE

February 8, 2018

The National Academy of Engineering (NAE) has elected 83 new members and 16 foreign members, announced NAE President C. D. (Dan) Mote, Jr., on February 7.  This brings the total U.S. membership to 2,293 and the number of foreign members to 262.

The inductees include Georgia Tech College of Engineering current faculty members Timothy Lieuwen and Jianjun (Jan) Shi, as well as adjunct faculty member, former College of Engineering dean, and Georgia Tech graduate Gary S. May. “We are delighted that the National Academy of Engineering has recognized our Georgia Tech faculty members for their outstanding contributions to engineering and as leaders in their fields,” said Steve McLaughlin, dean of the College of Engineering. “We also take great pride that our former dean and Tech alumnus, Gary May, has been recognized, not only for his research, but for his advocacy in bringing more underrepresented students into engineering. Their induction is a testament to the quality of our faculty members and their contributions to the engineering profession."

Timothy Lieuwen, executive director, Strategic Energy Institute, and professor and David S. Lewis Jr. Chair in the School of Aerospace Engineering, was honored for “contributions to research and development in low-emissions gas turbine combustion systems and U.S. energy policy.”

Jan Shi, Carolyn J. Stewart Chair and professor in the Stewart School of Industrial and Systems Engineering, was recognized for “the development of data fusion-based quality methods and their implementation in multistage manufacturing systems.”

Electrical and Computer Engineering (ECE) alumnus Gary S. May, currently chancellor of the University of California, Davis, and adjunct faculty member in ECE, was elected for “contributions to semiconductor manufacturing research and for innovations in educational programs for underrepresented groups in engineering.”

Election to the National Academy of Engineering is among the highest professional distinctions accorded to an engineer.  Academy membership honors those who have made outstanding contributions to "engineering research, practice, or education, including, where appropriate, significant contributions to the engineering literature" and to "the pioneering of new and developing fields of technology, making major advancements in traditional fields of engineering, or developing/implementing innovative approaches to engineering education."

Individuals in the newly elected class will be formally inducted during a ceremony at the NAE's annual meeting in Washington, D.C., on Sept. 30, 2018.  


Timothy Liewen Jan Shi 2018 Georgia Tech NAE Inductees

Recent News

Andre Dickens

College of Engineering Alumnus Elected Mayor of Atlanta

ChBE graduate Andre Dickens will be the city's 61st mayor. 
Dec 1 2021
Grad student adjusting equipment designed to sample building air

Research with GTRI Seeks to Detect SARS-CoV-2 Virus in Building Air

DARPA-funded project pursues something currently not possible: rapidly monitoring for, and detecting, infectious virus aerosols within indoor environments
Nov 19 2021
Professor Saad Bhamla snapping fingers

A Record-Breaking Motion at Our Fingertips

Inspired by a Marvel movie, researchers find the finger snap to have the highest acceleration the human body produces.
Nov 17 2021
illustration of NASA astronaut working on the moon

The Future of Space Exploration

Georgia Tech points to what’s next, and how the Institute will contribute
Nov 17 2021
Ankur Singh

Prostate Cancer Organoids Open Path to Precision Oncology

Bioengineer Ankur Singh is developing research tools that shed new light on a virtually untreatable form of prostate cancer, offering potential hope to patients.
Nov 17 2021