Faculty Members Elected to National Academy of Engineering

February 8, 2019

Highest Honor Given to Engineers

The National Academy of Engineering (NAE) has elected 86 new members and 18 foreign members, announced NAE President C. D. (Dan) Mote, Jr., on February 7.  This brings the total U.S. membership to 2,297 and the number of foreign members to 272.

The inductees include Georgia Tech College of Engineering current faculty members  “We are delighted that the National Academy of Engineering has recognized our Georgia Tech faculty members for their outstanding contributions to engineering and as leaders in their fields,” said Steve McLaughlin, dean of the College of Engineering. “Their induction is a testament to the quality of our faculty members and their contributions to the engineering profession."

Krish Ahuja (Aerospace Engineering)

Krishan K. Ahuja, Regents Professor, Daniel Guggenheim School of Aerospace Engineering. Ahuja was recognized for the development of quieter aerosystems and contributions to aeroacoustics research, literature, and education.

John Koon (Civil and Environmental Engineering)

John H. Koon, professor of the practice, School of Civil and Environmental Engineering and president, John H. Koon & Associates, was recognized for contributions to the design of systems to treat chemically complex industrial wastewaters. Election to the National Academy of Engineering is among the highest professional distinctions accorded to an engineer.  

Academy membership honors those who have made outstanding contributions to "engineering research, practice, or education, including, where appropriate, significant contributions to the engineering literature" and to "the pioneering of new and developing fields of technology, making major advancements in traditional fields of engineering, or developing/implementing innovative approaches to engineering education."

Ahuja is the fourth AE professor in five years to be named to the NAE. Among the most recent inductees are Prof. Robert Braun (2014), Prof. Vigor Yang (2015), and Prof. Tim Lieuwen (2018).

Individuals in the newly elected class will be formally inducted during a ceremony at the NAE's annual meeting in Washington, D.C.  

Recent News

Champion and Wilson headshot

Julie Champion and Corey Wilson Elected AIMBE Fellows

Associate Professors Julie Champion and Corey Wilson of Georgia Tech’s School of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering have been elected to the College of Fellows of the American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering (AIMBE).
Feb 24 2021
image of Jennifer and Chris McCrary

New Transfer Program Offers Path to Georgia Tech for Atlanta Public School Students

Georgia Tech is invested in the students, teachers, and families of the Atlanta Public Schools (APS) system through a variety of outreach, tutoring, and other support programs, including those sponsored by CEISMC and Constellations. 
Feb 24 2021
Tuba Kentenci headshot

Introducing STEM and Industrial Engineering to the Next Generation

Tuba Ketenci is an academic professional who develops K-12 outreach programs for ISyE. She facilitates programs that connect ISyE faculty with teachers and students, and develops teacher workshops that show them how to incorporate industrial engineering principles into their curriculum.
Feb 23 2021
Bassiri-Gharb and Dixon headshot

Two Woodruff School Professors Elected to AIMBE

The American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering (AIMBE) has announced the election of Woodruff School Professors Nazanin Bassiri-Gharb and Brandon Dixon to its College of Fellows.
Feb 23 2021
Dasi headshot

Dasi Elected an AIMBE Fellow

Lakshmi “Prasad” Dasi honored for his contributions to heart valve engineering and biofluid mechanics.
Feb 23 2021