ISyE School Chair Reappointed for Five-Year Term

January 21, 2020

H. Milton and Carolyn J. Stewart School Chair and Professor H. Edwin Romeijn has been reappointed to a five-year term in the H. Milton Stewart School of Industrial and Systems Engineering (ISyE).

The reappointment follows a five-year performance review as required by the Georgia Tech Faculty Handbook. The review committee, chaired by Vigor Yang, professor and former aerospace engineering school chair, conducted a thorough assessment complemented by feedback from the School and community including faculty, staff, and students; the ISyE Advisory Board; and other colleagues.

“I am pleased to announce the reappointment of Edwin Romeijn as the ISyE school chair,” said Steve McLaughlin, dean of the College of Engineering. “During his tenure, the School has accomplished some significant milestones including offering an online master’s degree in analytics as well as maintaining its preeminence as the No. 1 industrial engineering program in the country, a position the School has had for more than 20 years.”

“Serving as the H. Milton and Carolyn J. Stewart Chair of ISyE for the past five years has been a great privilege, and I am looking forward to remaining in this role,” Romeijn commented. “I will continue to work closely with faculty, students, alumni, and staff to ensure ISyE remains the top-ranked program of its kind, attracts the best and brightest students, produces top-tier graduates, and leads the way for researchers in our field. I am proud to be part of this community and am excited to see what the future holds.”

The review committee from ISyE comprised the following:

Christos Alexopoulos, professor

Hayriye Ayhan, professor

Santanu Dey, A. Russell Chandler III Professor

Xiaoming Huo, A. Russell Chandler III Professor

George Nemhauser, A. Russell Chandler III Chair and Institute Professor

Enlu Zhou, associate professor

The reappointment was effective January 1 and runs through December 31, 2024.

Recent News

2 researchers

National Security Research Fueled By Partnership

New program to foster research collaboration between academic faculty and Georgia Tech Research Institute scientists
Jun 14 2021
Asif Khan headshot

Khan Chosen for DARPA Young Faculty Award

ECE Assistant Professor Asif Khan has been chosen for a DARPA Young Faculty Award.
Jun 11 2021
John Cressler and Justin Romberg headshots

Cressler, Romberg Honored with Prestigious IEEE Medals

John D. Cressler and Justin K. Romberg, both faculty members from the Georgia Tech School of Electrical and Computer Engineering (ECE), have been awarded with two of the most prestigious honors presented by the IEEE, the world’s largest technical professional organization dedicated to advancing technology for the benefit of humanity.
Jun 7 2021
Jonathan Fitch headshot

From Side Hustle to Successful Business: ISyE Student Jonathan Fitch and Next Gen Integration, LLC

Third-year Industrial and Systems Engineering student Jonathan Fitch's side hustle has transformed into a growing and successful business called Next Gen Integration, LLC. 
Jun 7 2021
Samuel Graham headshot

Samuel Graham Selected as Dean of Engineering at University of Maryland

18-year faculty member to begin new role Oct 1
Jun 3 2021